Oakes Brew House – Modderfontein

Oakes Brew House Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato


I love the quaint, old-world suburb of Modderfontein. Located within spitting distance of my home in Edenvale, it gives you the sense of being in a cutesy, little village. And nestled amidst the tall pine trees lies a fantastic place called Oakes Brew House. Oakes is famous for its own brand of craft beer and coffee brewed by an all female team!
You can choose to sit either inside the house, on the patio or under the towering pine trees of the garden. The peace and tranquility of the area gives you the sense of being out in the sticks.

Obviously the specialities are their  craft beer and coffee. Four varieties of beer are brewed by an all female team!I had a cafe latte which was delicious. Hot, strong and steamy like many a good thing in life. 
Their menu is not very extensive. Think typical cafe style food. tramezzinis, toasted sandwiches, pancakes, quiches and cakes. We ordered the spinach and feta quiche. Although not a quiche in the true sense of the word as there was hardly any egg in it, it was absolutely moreish. Generous amounts of spinach and feta are just held together with egg and domed in crispy, tangy cheddar cheese. The portion was a little skimpy for my taste but I guess next time I’ll just order two!

I’ve been told the carrot cake is lovely and certainly presents well, in individual portions.  I opted to try the chocolate cake which I found a bit heavy on the salt but over all not unpleasant.

I can just imagine bringing my book here and spending the afternoon under the trees relaxing and forgetting that I live in a bustling city. A definite must try!

Overall rating 3.5/5

Corner main and high street 

Modderfontein

Johannesburg

Leave a Reply

